NFF Names 30 Eagles For World Cup

NFF Names 30 Eagles For World Cup

Nigeria released a provisional 30 man squad for the 2018 World Cup on Monday, with Tianjin Teda midfielder John Obi Mikel was named as Nigeria captain.

Nwankwo got his first global call-up following his fine form in the Italian topflight where he has scored six goals in his last seven outings. Football fans have praised the inclusion of Lokosa who has banged in 18 goals in the Nigerian league for Kano Pillars.

Joining Mikel in the midfield are Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (UD Las Palmas, Spain); John Ogu (Hapoel Be'er Sheva, Israel); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Joel Obi (Torino FC, Italy); and Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey).

More news: Irish ladies lead the way on BAFTA TV Awards red carpet
More news: Oil dips on signs of ample supply despite OPEC cuts, Iran sanctions
More news: Biggest Black Hole Yet Noticed Boggles the Human Mind

His terrific forms in front of goalpost has been rewarded by Super Eagles boss, Gernot Rohr, who included him in his 30-man squad for the Russian Federation 2018 soccer showpiece.

The Super Eagles who were unbeaten in their qualification race to the World Cup will face Argentina, Iceland and Croatia in Group D.

By then, they will hold warm up games against among others England, Czech Republic and DR Congo on June 2, June 6 and May 28 respectively.