World

Introducing Stories Highlights and Stories Archive

Introducing Stories Highlights and Stories Archive

If you prefer the old system, you can turn off Stories Archive altogether. Highlight will appear as a circle on user's profile.

One of the biggest attractions of Instagram Stories has been the fact that the feature lets you capture any moment in time without making it a permanent thing.

'To create a highlight, tap the "New" circle at the far left, ' the firm explains. Then select clips from your archived stories, choose a thumbnail for your story, and give it a name (for example, "puppers" from the previous example). The features tend to change the popular stories and make it more interesting. Once your story expires after 24 hours, Instagram will automatically save them into your archive. As your Stories will now be archived, you will be able to watch them again.

Stories Highlights is a new part of your profile where you can save your favourite Stories.

More news: Lamborghini unveils new Urus SUV
More news: Australia to ban foreign interference in politics
More news: Starbucks Opens Premium Reserve Roastery in China

When the story archive is available for your specific account, you'll get a notification inside the app. The Stories can be accessed by tapping on Archive icon on user's profile. It might have seemed silly going through the work of shooting Stories and jazzing them up with captions and stickers if they'd disappear the next day. To edit or remove a highlight, just tap and hold that highlight on your profile. Instagram won't begin saving stories until that notification appears, and it will also offer a link to opt out.

After your Story has been live for 24 hours, it will be saved to the new Archive section, the firm says.

The Archive is private, so only the user can view their own stuff while it's in there.

If this feature reminds you of last year's Snapchat launch of its "Memories" section, you're not wrong. So like if you have some recent pictures of a event you attended, you would save them to your profile under "The wedding event". That meant it could feel like you were spamming friends if you wanted to share niche content, deterring content creation.