Pro Football Hall of Fame clarifies confusing Steve Smith nomination

Pro Football Hall of Fame clarifies confusing Steve Smith nomination

He was also the starting center on the Colts' championship team in Super Bowl XLI.

The nomination list will be reduced to a semifinalist list that will be announced yet this fall, with the finalists being selected from the semifinalists later in the year. The 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame class will be selected and announced on February 3. Each was instrumental in the franchise's run of excellence in the 2000s. He ranks second all time in receiving yards (15,934) and third in receiving TDs (153).

Enshrinement will be next August in Canton.

A six-time Pro Bowler, two times First Team All-Pro and one-time Second Team All-Pro Selection, Saturday played in 211 games over his National Football League career, starting 202. Saturday also played a key role in the resolution of the 2011 NFL-NFLPA labor dispute.

After playing 13 years with the Panthers, Smith finished out the final three seasons of his career with the Baltimore Ravens.

Butler, a four-time All-Pro and Pro Bowler, played in 181 regular-season games from 1990-2001.

James played 11 National Football League seasons, including his first seven with the Indianapolis Colts. He was a five-time first-team All-Pro.

More news: Federal Judge Blocks Sessions' Move to Punish Sanctuary Cities
More news: Haley: 'Plenty' of military options available for dealing with North Korea
More news: De Bruyne happy with fight for places at Man City

Urlacher is one of 108 players on the ballot and one of only 11 first-year nominees, joining the likes of Randy Moss and Ray Lewis in that company.

Running backs: Tiki Barber, Earnest Byner, Roger Craig, Corey Dillon, Eddie George, Edgerrin James, Lorenzo Neal, Fred Taylor, Herschel Walker (also KR), Ricky Watters.

However, that doesn't make it any less fun to compare Smith's career stats with those of fellow first-year nominees Driver and Moss.

Tight ends: Mark Bavaro, Ben Coates, Ferrell Edmunds, Jay Novacek.

Offensive linemen: Willie Anderson (T), Matt Birk (C), Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Ruben Brown (G), Ray Donaldson (C), Alan Faneca (G), Bill Fralic (G/T), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Steve Hutchinson (G), Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Kevin Mawae (C/G), Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), Bart Oates (C), Jeff Saturday (C), Richmond Webb (T), Steve Wisniewski (G).

Defensive linemen: T La'Roi Glover, E/T Leonard Marshall, E/T Keith Mallard, D Leslie O'Neal, E/T Michael Dean Perry, E Simeon Rice, T Richard Seymour, E Neil Smith, D/T/LB Greg Townsend, E Kyle Vanden Bosch, T Bryant Young. Therefore, any individual who last played or coached in 2012 are eligible for the first time in 2018).